Understanding Life’s Journey…

Standard

road

I’ve been serving God through my church and my life for years and years.  There have been a lot of lessons learned, both good and bad, over the years that have helped shape and mold me into the person I am today.  There isn’t one of those situations that I would take back because if the outcomes were different then I wouldn’t be the exact person I am today. 

There is no telling what path I could have been on had my life taken a different turn, so I am happy with where I am because I can’t imagine my life differently.  If I didn’t have my best friend as my wife, I wouldn’t have my kids and that is a nightmare that I don’t even want to consider.  They ARE my life so therefore I am happy to have traveled the journey that is my life because it led me straight to them.

Recently I’ve seen a lot of heartbreak having experienced the choices of some friends of mine.  Seeing them make their decisions only to fail miserably at what they pursued was both gut-wrenching and horrible, but, having been there before, I know that they’ll be better off one day for having experienced it.  I’ve spent time both talking and counseling them through their trials. We’ve cried, we’ve gotten angry, we’ve sat in disbelief and we’ve embraced over the trials of their life only to arrive at one thing: they’ll be a better person one day because of it all.  That’s a hard thing to stomach so early after a trial, be it death, heartbreak, job loss or whatever, but it’s true.

One thing that is consistent in every trial and life lesson is that regardless of whether it was good or bad, it WILL better you.  Through difficult times we learn how not to do those things again or we learn how to recognize the type of situation that bad things can manifest and through the good times we learn how to consistently surround ourselves with positive things and people.  Obviously these aren’t the only things we can learn, but just a couple that I chose to highlight.  

God made us for two things (in my mind): 1) To worship Him and 2) to help each other and the world.  I want to focus on the latter.  We are all children of God, therefore making us brothers and sisters, which ultimately means we’re all one big family.  When our lives pan out the way that they do, we’re to learn from it and to some degree not repeat the mistakes.  If one of us has the knowledge of how not to do something we’re to share it, not forcefully, but when asked.  It’s kind of like counselling someone.  Just like a brother would advise his brother. 

2 Corinthians 3:6 says, “He has made us as competent ministers, not of the letter (law), but of the Holy Spirit.”

One thing that I have learned is that we are really here to help each other out and we can do that by sharing our life experiences.  We are to do so out of love and not for any other reason.  Jesus did all that He did out of love to help teach people the correct way to live life.  Jesus never forced anyone and neither are we.  Every moment is a teaching moment.  We can learn something from everything that we experience and from there we can pass that knowledge on.

1 Thessalonians Chapter 5 verse 18 says: “in all things give thanks, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

Be thankful for what God has blessed you with and know that the journey you’ve traveled to get to where you stand today is a part of His great and awesome plan for your life which is why it helps Understanding Life’s Journey…

Leave a comment