Why can’t I?

Standard

I get so frustrated with myself sometimes. Believe it or not, within that frustration comes amazement too because I amaze myself at how dumb or irrational or idiotic I can be given certain situations.  Have you ever experienced this?  Did you ever think that you’d amaze yourself in the bad things? I sure didn’t.  I always thought that I would amaze myself at the things I could accomplish on the good side, never the bad.

I’ve tried and tried to analyze this so I could find a way to try to stop myself from doing this, but I’ve never been able to achieve it.  There is no manual, no instruction book with step by step guidelines on how to fix it. No DIY TV show or workshop at the Home Depot.  There is but only one way to stop it and that is to learn from the mistakes you’ve made.

Sounds simple, right? Not so fast….

Yeah, you’ve always heard to learn from your mistakes and to never repeat them, but no one ever really teaches you how to really learn from the mistakes.  How do you apply the lesson learned when most of the time you’re uncertain as to how you got there in the first place?  This is what most people, organizations, churches, parents etc don’t teach because there is no true guideline for that.

In my experience, I have learned that the end lesson is important and that is what most say to learn from, but to me its the journey that got you there that is more important to learn from and often the hardest to grasp. Being able to recognize those key happenings that set you on that path is more valuable to me than the end lesson, for if you can learn to prevent that you wouldn’t wind up in that pit in the end.

Ecclesiastes 7:14 (NIV) says: “When times are good, be happy; but when times are bad, consider this: God has made the one as well as the other. Therefore, no one can discover anything about their future.”

Those are important words to me. I take them as this: He made the good and he made the bad.  Lessons are to be learned from both, but our choices and decisions along the way affect our outcome.  If we work on the thoughts and choices that lead us then we therefore can affect the outcome and to me, that is how you learn from the mistakes.  You analyze how you got there to begin with.

I’m sure that sounds simple to some and not very prophetic, but it took me a long time to realize that.  That’s why I couldn’t ever really learn from my mistakes because I didn’t know where to start.  Now that I do, things are much easier to grasp and control, although I still have a lot to learn.

Leave a Reply

