My Own, Personal Revival

Standard

revival-has-begun

We all need a good, swift kick in the butt sometimes.  Maybe that motivation to workout, to be healthy. That drive to be a better person/husband/father.  But honestly, sometimes there is no end game in sight, no prize at the end of the race that you’re actually shooting for.  Sometime you just need to revive the person you are because you’ve lost sight of him/her.

Life can be tough and challenging so much so that you can lose sight of who you are and who God wants you to be.  We can fill our life with things and tasks that will cover up and cloud the path that God set us on.  I’ve done it and so have you, but that can be a costly mistake if we let it linger too long.  Look, I get it.  We are busy people.  We have work, church, a social life and the kids have sports, school and their friends and sometimes it just hard to fit it all in, but the bottom line is that we make time for the things that are most important to us and the decisions that we make will affect our kids and how they prioritize.  I’ve seen this in my own home.

Being a salesman and social network enthusiast, I would be on my phone quite a bit.  So much so that my impressionable young son at the time wanted to see and do what daddy was doing.  I gave him the impression that my phone/electronics were important and therefore they became important to him, so much so that he would sneak out of his room at night to play the iPad or Kindle.  To this day he still struggles with wanting to play electronics and I will forever feel that I am directly responsible for that.  The same thing applies to all people.  If we show others that something is important to us they too will realize that that will take precedence over them or what ever I’m doing.  We just have to make sure that it’s the right things, not the wrong ones.

We need a revival.  I’m not talking about a gathering of folks under tents in a field somewhere (although nationally we need one), but I’m talking about our own, personal revival.  An awakening of sorts to find the person that we once were: driven, focused, purposeful.  Not only do we needs our own personal revival, but we also need re-purposing.

I own a small woodworking company and one of the neat things I do is use old wood that has been reclaimed, either from old barns, buildings or pallets.  That wood has been somewhere and has witnessed things, much like a person.  It had its own purpose for being where it was.  It has a story to tell.  We are the same way.  We have been places, seen things and people can benefit from hearing our stories, but we have to return to being that person again.

I personally have been distracted from being the person that I’m called to be by God.  In order for me to make a difference in someone I first have to make a difference in myself and this is why I need my own, personal revival.

Leave a Reply

